Disaster Declaration Signed for 34 Kansas Counties

August 12, 2010

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in 34 Kansas counties hit by storms and flooding in June and July.

Obama issued a disaster declaration Tuesday.

The declaration makes local governments and some nonprofit groups eligible for federal aid to repair or replace facilities damaged by flooding, storms and tornadoes.

Most of the counties are in eastern, central and north-central Kansas.

Counties covered by the declaration are: Atchison, Brown, Butler, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Doniphan, Ellis, Franklin, Greenwood, Harvey, Jewell, Kiowa, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Smith, Wabaunsee, Washington and Woodson.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.