Iowa Receives Presidential Disaster Declaration

August 2, 2010

Gov. Chet Culver says President Barack Obama has authorized a presidential disaster declaration for 32 Iowa counties affected by flooding and storms since June 1.

The declaration provides federal funding to rebuild roads and bridges and other public facilities and help cover the cost of debris removal or emergency work during the storms.

The 32 counties that can apply for Public Assistance Program funding are Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Clay, Davis, Decatur, Franklin, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Lee, Lyon, Madison, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Ringgold, Shelby, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.