6 More South Dakota Counties Eligible for Disaster Aid

July 6, 2010

Six South Dakota counties have been added to the list of those eligible for aid under a federal disaster declaration.

President Barack Obama in mid-May declared a disaster for 30 South Dakota counties in the wake of spring flooding. On July 1, Deuel, Douglas, Gregory, Hand, Lake and Tripp counties were added. Moody County was added last week.

The federal government will cover three-quarters of the costs of emergency work and repairs in those counties.

Other counties eligible for aid are: Aurora, Beadle, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner and Union.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.