58 Ill. Counties to Receive Disaster Aid

September 16, 2009

The federal government has approved declaring 58 Illinois counties disaster areas because of heavy rains last spring that washed out crops. Another 30 adjacent counties are also eligible for assistance.

Primary disaster areas are: Adams, Alexander, Bond, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Fulton, Gallatin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lake, Lawrence, Lee, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Massac, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Ogle, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, Saline, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Stephenson, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, and Whiteside.

The 30 adjacent counties approved for assistance are:

Bureau, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Coles, Cook, DeKalb, DeWitt, Edgar, Franklin, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jo Daviess, Kane, Knox, LaSalle, Macon, Mason, McLean, Moultrie, Peoria, Rock Island, Sangamon, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, White, Williamson and Winnebago.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.