Obama Approves SD Disaster Declaration

June 19, 2009

President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for 14 South Dakota counties and the portions of the Cheyenne River and Standing Rock reservations within those counties due to March snowstorms and subsequent flooding.

The White House said that federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and some private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and to repair public facilities like roads, bridges and sewage systems.

The counties are Brown, Butte, Campbell, Corson, Day, Dewey, Edmunds, Harding, Marshall, McPherson, Perkins, Roberts, Spink and Ziebach.

A survey estimated more than $3.5 million in emergency costs and damages.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.