South Dakota Seeks Disaster Declaration

May 29, 2009

The governor of South Dakota has asked for federal assistance in counties affected by March snowstorms and subsequent flooding.

Gov. Mike Rounds is requesting a presidential disaster declaration for 14 counties and two American Indian reservations in the northern half of the state.

He says a preliminary survey found more than $3.5 million in emergency costs and damages.

A presidential declaration would provide federal money for up to 75 percent of the eligible costs to repair public facilities like roads, bridges and sewage systems.

The governor’s request covers the Cheyenne River and Standing Rock Indian reservations, and these counties: Brown, Butte, Campbell, Corson, Day, Dewey, Edmunds, Harding, Marshall, McPherson, Perkins, Roberts, Spink, and Ziebach.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.