Kansas Gov. Seeks Federal Fund for Flood Relief

October 3, 2008

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius has declared a state of emergency for 11 counties that were damaged by severe storms, heavy rains and flooding last month.

Sebelius signed an order for Anderson, Butler, Chase, Cowley, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Lyon, Russell, Sedgwick and Sumner counties.

By signing the declaration, the governor clears the way for local governments to begin assessing damage and making requests for federal assistance to make necessary repairs. Sebelius said she would be asking FEMA to assist in assessing the damage, as well.

Governor’s office.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.