3 More Illinois Counties Declared Disaster Areas

September 26, 2008

Governor Rod Blagojevich declared three more Illinois counties state disaster areas after severe flooding this month.

The governor’s office said the state disaster declaration for Bureau, Kendall and Woodford counties means more state assets and personnel will be available to flooded communities.

Andrew Velasquez is director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency. He says flood waters are still up in some areas of the three counties.

Last week, the governor issued disaster declarations for seven Chicago-area counties, including Cook, DuPage, DeKalb, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle and Will.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.