More Iowa Counties Get Disaster Declarations

August 11, 2008

Four more counties have been added to the list of presidential disaster declaration areas that will get individual assistance, and two more counties are eligible for public assistance.

Gov. Chet Culver says Appanoose, Clark, Monroe and Ringgold counties have been approved for individual assistance, which helps residents and business owners rebuild.

Clarke and Wayne counties are now eligible for public assistance which helps repair public facilities and pays for emergency services related to the disaster.

So far, officials say that 67 counties across the state have been approved for individual assistance. Public assistance has been approved for 82 counties.

Culver says the federal assistance will help Iowans devastated by severe storms and flooding rebuild their homes and communities.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.