Mo. Gov. Blunt Asks Insurance Companies to Give Grace Period to Flood Victims

June 30, 2008

Missouri Gov. Matt Blunt and the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration (DIFP) called on insurance companies to provide maximum consideration to flood victims in the coming days. Missouri joins Illinois, Iowa and Indiana in asking insurers to give extended time to flood victims to pay premiums and other insurance related tasks.

“State, local and private organizations have been working together to assist Missouri residents in flooded areas and it has been encouraging to see firsthand how Missouri communities are banding together to fight the flooding,” Gov. Blunt said. “I urge insurance companies to join this cooperative effort by providing extended grace periods for premium payments and claims documentation procedures for those affected by the flooding.”

“Several Missourians are grappling with the hardships of being displaced from their homes and losing their family’s belongings and important records,” said Linda Bohrer, acting director of DIFP. “I applaud those insurance companies that have already instituted programs to assist Missouri insurance consumers during this very difficult time.”

DIFP also reminds insurance companies of Bulletin 93-10: Cancellation of Flood Victims’ Insurance which was issued during the 1993 floods as they evaluate their disaster planning response. This bulletin states that insurers may not cancel a homeowner’s insurance because the insured property has been subject to flooding.

If Missouri consumers have questions regarding their coverage, they should contact their insurance agent or company representative. For more information, please visit or call the Consumer Insurance Hotline at 1-800-726-7390.

Gov. Blunt received an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration for 22 Missouri counties and the City of St. Louis as a result of flooding and severe weather along the Missouri and Mississippi rivers.

The 22 Missouri counties are: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Cape Girardeau, Clark, Holt, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, Mississippi, New Madrid, Nodaway, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Ralls, St. Charles, St Louis, Ste Genevieve and Scott Counties and the independent City of St. Louis.

The State Emergency Operation Center continues to coordinate state resources assisting local governments with their emergency protective actions ranging from sandbagging, drinking and waste water issues, security, mass feeding, sheltering operations, monitoring road closures, crisis counseling and helping locations with their vulnerable populations.

Source: Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.