Nebraska Gov. Signs Disaster Declaration for Counties Hit By Storm

May 2, 2008

Gov. Dave Heineman signed an emergency declaration for four southeastern Nebraska counties that were hit by a severe storm that spawned at least one tornado.

Officials with the state Emergency Management Agency have been assessing damage in Gage, Johnson, Nemaha and Pawnee counties in the wake of the storm.

Communities in that region were hit with high winds, flooding and at least one tornado that damaged the small downtown business district in the village of Johnson. No one was hurt.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.