Federal Snowstorm Aid Approved for Seven Illinois Counties

March 17, 2008

President Bush ordered federal aid to be made available to seven northern Illinois counties that were hard-hit by heavy snow in early February.

The president’s action makes federal funding available to the state of Illinois and local governments in the counties of Boone, Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lake, McHenry, Stephenson and Winnebago.

Those northern Illinois counties were hit by record or near-record snowfall during the storm that struck February 5 and 6.

Governor Rod Blagojevich (bluh-GOY’-uh-vitch) applied for the federal snow assistance last month. He says it’s been a tough winter in northern Illinois, but local governments have done a great job of clearing roads and keeping people safe.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.