Federal Disaster Aid Approved for 18 Missouri Counties

March 14, 2008

Local governments in southern Missouri affected by flooding and a winter storm last month are eligible for federal aid.

Gov. Matt Blunt asked for the assistance several weeks ago after damage assessment teams attributed almost $14 million in infrastructure damage in 18 counties to severe weather that swept through Feb. 10-14.

The money will go to help state and local governments, plus some private groups, in Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Christian, Douglas, Greene, Madison, Mississippi, Ozark, Reynolds, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Wayne, Webster and Wright counties.

There’s also federal funding for statewide hazard mitigation efforts.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.