Iowa Agencies, Organization to Get Aid After Winter Storm

February 20, 2008

State and local agencies and some nonprofit organizations will get more than $3.2 million in federal aid after a severe winter storm last December.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency and Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division announced the grants after President Bush declared a major disaster for 30 counties that experienced damage during a severe winter storm in early Dec.

The money will be used to reimburse the agencies and organizations for projects such as debris removal, rescue of motorists and emergency salting and sanding of roads.

Officials said more funding could be on the way as eligible applications complete paperwork on their storm-related efforts.

The counties that were part of the disaster declaration include: Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Cedar, Clarke, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington and Wayne.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.