Bush Declares State of Disaster in Missouri

January 3, 2008

President Bush issued a federal disaster declaration that will free up money to help Missouri recover from a series of winter storms.

More than 170,000 homes and businesses were without power at the peak of the storms earlier this month.

Public assistance is available for 42 counties. The declaration also provides money for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Bush earlier declared a state of emergency in Missouri to help assist the state with the initial emergency work.


Counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barton, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cedar, Clinton, Cole, Dade, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Jasper, Lincoln, Linn, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Nodaway, Osage, Pike, Putnam, St. Clair, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan, Warren and Worth.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.