Mich. H.E.A.T. Auto Theft Program Honors Top Leaders

October 26, 2007

Michigan’s H.E.A.T. (Help Eliminate Auto Thefts) program celebrated its 22nd anniversary with a special awards ceremony and breakfast this week.

According to H.E.A.T. officials, since its inception in 1985, H.E.A.T., with its partners in law enforcement and the insurance industry, have helped lead to the recovery of nearly $46 million in stolen property and the arrests of more than 3,000 suspects involved in auto theft rings, chop shops, carjackings and fraudulent car thefts. H.E.A.T. has paid nearly $3.2 million in tipster rewards over the last 22 years.

“By reducing auto theft, distributing cash rewards and helping lower auto insurance rates H.E.A.T. continues to boost economic prosperity and quality of life among Michigan’s residents, bringing the community together to encourage regional cooperation,” said Terri Miller, director of H.E.A.T. “I would like to congratulate everyone on their dedication and look forward to our continued success.”

During the H.E.A.T. ceremony several awards were presented including the prestigious William V. Liddane Award and the H.E.A.T. Investigator of the Year Awards.

The William V. Liddane Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the fight against auto theft in Michigan, while the H.E.A.T. Investigator of the Year Awards honor law enforcement for their tenacity and hard work in auto theft investigation, arrest, recovery and prevention. This year’s William V. Liddane Award was presented to Mary Look, Claims Special Investigative Unit manager of AAA of Michigan. H.E.A.T. Investigator of the Year awards were awarded to:

Washtenaw Area Auto Theft Team (WAATT)
Detective Sergeant George Warchock
Detective Charlie Ball

Western Wayne Auto Theft Unit (WWATU)
Detective Corporal Mark Mitchell
Detective Clive Stewart

Detroit Police Department’s CATS (Cut Auto Theft Statistics) Unit
Sergeant Vernal Newson
Officer Michael Davis
Officer John Quincy
Officer Dana Russell
Officer Andre Kirkland
Officer David Jakeway
Officer Alfredo Jimenez
Officer Stevie Perry
Officer Rico Hardy
Officer Mark Burke
Officer Fredricka Davis

Oakland County Sheriff’s Department Auto Theft Unit
Sergeant Kevin Banycky
Sergeant Charles Bernard
Detective Nicole Quisenberry
Detective Chris Cole
Detective Jeffery Cardinal
Detective Frank Lenz
Detective Chet Bartle (Waterford PD)
Detective William Hamel (Hazel Park PD)
Detective Dennis Alvis (Pontiac PD)
Detective Richard Blendea (Farmington Hills PD)
Detective Sidney Godley (Wayne County Sheriff)

Source: Michigan H.E.A.T.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.