Iowa Receives Federal Aid for 14 Counties

September 17, 2007

The state of Iowa will receive federal funds to recover from severe storms that began last month.

President Bush declared 14 Iowa counties as disaster areas. He granted funding to state and local governments and some private nonprofit groups to repair damaged property. However, he denied a request by Gov. Chet Culver to help individuals.

Much of northern and central Iowa were hit hard by storms that brought strong winds, rain and flooding from Aug. 17 to Sept. 5.

The counties include Allamakee, Appanoose, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Davis, Humboldt, Mahaska, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne, and Webster.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.