FEMA Adds Kan. Counties to May, July Disaster Lists

July 20, 2007

Fourteen more Kansas counties are eligible for individual federal assistance to help recover from severe storms and flooding in the last few months.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says McPherson, Smith and Pottawatomie counties are now part of the May 6 disaster declaration.

Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua (shuh-TAWK’-wuh), Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Franklin, Greenwood, Osage (OH’-sayj) and Woodson counties are added to the July 2 declaration.

The individual assistance program helps people pay for uninsured personal property damage and medical, dental and funeral costs.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.