Allstate Offers Deferred Payment for Katrina Victims

September 6, 2005

Companies within the Allstate family announced that, effective Aug. 26, 2005, they have implemented up to a 90-day deferred payment period for customers located in counties and parishes directly affected by Hurricane Katrina in Alabama, Mississippi and Louisiana.

Under the plan, customers who are unable to make their premium payments will not be penalized with a loss of coverage during the deferment period. If a customer continues to make payments, even if it’s not the minimum amount due, their payments will be credited toward the outstanding premium amount. If a customer has a renewal policy offer pending during this timeframe, but is unable to make a payment, their policy will continue to be in effect. Additionally, installment fees will be waived during this timeframe.

Customers who are currently enrolled in the Easy Pay Plan, Mortgagee Pay or Payroll Deduction programs will not automatically be placed on a deferred payment schedule. If, however, funds are scheduled for removal from a customer’s account in the impacted areas and no funds are available, the customer will be removed from the program(s) and rolled over to the deferred payment schedule.

If a customer would like to make a payment and cannot mail it in, credit/debit card and check payments can be made by calling 1-800-Allstate or visiting the Customer Care Center online at Customers with questions about the deferred payment policy may also call the customer service phone number listed on their policy or statements.

Counties and parishes currently impacted by this decision include areas of Baldwin and Mobile counties in Alabama; areas of Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Charles, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington Parishes in Louisiana; areas of Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Marion, Newton, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Warren, Washington and Wayne counties in Mississippi.

During the initial 90-day period and beyond, Allstate will continue to work with officials in each state to monitor the situation and adjust the impacted areas as warranted.

Companies within the Allstate family include: Allstate Insurance Company, Allstate Motor Club, Allstate Life Insurance Company, Allstate Workplace Division (AWD), Lincoln Benefit Life Company, Surety Life Insurance Company, Encompass Insurance Company and Deerbrook Insurance Company.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.