Pair of Ohio Counties Added for Public Assistance

March 23, 2005

Two additional Ohio counties have been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance for aid to local governments affected by the severe winter storms and flooding that began Dec. 22, federal officials announced.

The additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data in Putnam and Montgomery counties gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Under the expanded assistance affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved eligible disaster related costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

This brings to 59 the number of Ohio counties that are eligible for Public Assistance under the Feb. 15 federal disaster declared as a result of major damages caused by winter storms and flooding.

Counties previously declared eligible for Adams, Allen, Ashland, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Champaign, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton, Crawford, Darke, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Guernsey, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Huron, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Lorain, Marion, Medina, Meigs, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Richland, Ross, Scioto, Seneca, Shelby, Stark, Tuscarawas, Union, Van Wert, Washington, Wayne and Wyandot counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.