N.D. Gov. Notes Businesses in 14 Counties Eligible for Disaster Loan Assistance

January 27, 2005

North Dakota Gov. John Hoeven announced recently that businesses in 14 counties are eligible to apply for low-interest Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as a result of frost and freezing temperatures during Aug. 16-23 of last year.

“When farmers and ranchers experience losses as a result of disastrous conditions, local businesses and merchants share in their hardship,” Hoeven said. “SBA assistance is available for these businesses to aid in their recovery and help the community get back on its feet.”

These loans are available to help businesses meet normal operating expenses that cannot be met due to the effects of a disaster. Businesses in the following counties are eligible to apply:

Barnes; Benson; Cass; Griggs; Kidder; LaMoure; Logan; McLean;
Sheridan; Steele; Stutsman; Traill; Wells; Williams.

The availability of these low-interest loans is an amendment to the disaster declaration issued last year by SBA. Counties contiguous to these 14 are not considered in the amendment.

To obtain an application or receive additional information, interested business owners may call SBA toll-free at (800) 366-6303 or TDD (817) 267-4688 for the hearing impaired. The deadline for filing an application has been extended to Sept. 12 for this amendment.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.