Minn. Gov. Notes Federal Disaster Assistance for Farmers Impacted by Frost

October 15, 2004

Farmers in 29 Minnesota counties are now eligible for Federal disaster assistance due to damage and losses caused by frost. Gov. Tim Pawlenty requested the aid on Aug. 23.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designation means qualified farm operators can apply for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.

“In some parts of Minnesota, a warm September has resulted in a strong corn and soybean crop,” the Governor said. “But farmers in Northern Minnesota fared far worse, primarily because of a cold snap in August. This disaster area declaration will bring some needed assistance to farmers and their families as the harvest season gets underway.”

The counties in the disaster declaration are: Aitkin, Chisago, Isanti, Marshall, Roseau, Becker, Clearwater, Itasca, Norman, St. Louis,
Beltrami, Cook, Kanabec, Pennington, Swift, Carlton, Crow, Wing, Kittson, Pine, Todd, Cass, Douglas, Koochiching, Polk, Wadena, Chippewa, Hubbard, Mahnomen, and Red Lake.

Also eligible because they are contiguous are: Anoka, Big Stone, Clay, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Pope, Renville, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Washington and Yellow Medicine counties.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for the loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA considers each loan application on its own merits. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Center for further information on eligibility requirements and applications procedures for these and other programs.

Additional information is also available online at: http://www.disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.