Ohio Gov. Recognizes Six Employers for Workplace Safety Commitment

July 26, 2004

Ohio Gov. Bob Taft recently announced the winners of this year’s prestigious Governor’s Excellence in Workers’ Compensation Awards. The award is given to employers who focus on aggressively reducing workplace accidents and actively supporting injured workers with return-to-work programs.

“These Ohio businesses are being recognized for their commitment to workplace safety and protecting their employees from harm,” Taft said. “Each organization receiving this years Governor’s Excellence in Workers’ Compensation award has responsibly and successfully implemented safety programs and strategies. By demonstrating such determination to be the safest in their field, these employers keep Ohioans working and the state’s economic climate improving.”

Six winners were selected from 263,000 Ohio employers. The 2004 Governor’s Excellence Awards winners are:

North Star BlueScope Steel, Delta;
Bostik Findley, Twinsburg;
The Sterling Manufacturing Company, Cleveland;
City of Lakewood, Lakewood;
Shadyside Local School District, Shadyside;
Quality Masonry Co. Inc., Marion.

“This year’s GEA winners know that protecting their employees, and sending them home safely each night, is the most important thing that they can do for their community,” said James Conrad, Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation’s (BWC’s) Administrator/CEO. “The effects of a workplace injury are far reaching. Not only does the moral of a business suffer, but family, friends and neighbors of the injured worker are touched as well.”

“By eliminating accidents, Ohio employers not only keep their employees safe from harm, but keep their workers’ compensation costs low. The safety habits demonstrated by these companies are outstanding and deserve to be replicated by other businesses around the state.”

A business can be nominated for a Governor’s Excellence in Workers’ Compensation Award by a local business organization, such as a chamber of commerce, another state agency or a BWC employee. A business may also nominate itself. BWC selects the winners.

Three private state-fund employers are selected; two winners must have fewer than 100 employees, while the other company must employ 100 or more workers. In addition, two awards are given to a public employer and the sixth winner is a self-insured company.

BWC will present the awards the week of July 26 at the employers’ site.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.