Ohio Gov. Reports 10 Counties Added to Federal Declaration for Storm Damage

June 30, 2004

Ohio Governor Bob Taft announced that President George W. Bush has approved the addition of 10 Ohio counties to the federal individual assistance declaration for individuals and families who suffered damages from severe storms and flooding that occurred May 18 – June 21.

The declaration means residents and business owners in Carroll, Crawford, Delaware, Geauga, Guernsey, Licking, Logan, Richland, Stark and Tuscarawas counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance.

“The President has again responded to the needs of Ohioans by adding these counties to the list of those eligible for federal assistance,” Taft said. “The President’s actions, and additional assistance that will come from the state as a result of his declaration will help even Ohioans recover from the storms and flooding and rebuild their lives.”

The announcment brings the total number of counties eligible for individual assistance to 21. Federal individual assistance can include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance; Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for families. Individuals and business owners can use the aid to repair or replace property and housing; and receive replacement grants to help meet disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs; and disaster unemployment assistance.

The full list of counties eligible for federal individual assistance includes: Athens, Carroll, Columbiana, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Geauga, Guernsey, Hocking, Licking, Logan, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit and Tuscarawas.

This declaration follows Taft’s announcement earlier in the week that 13 counties were approved to receive federal public assistance. Federal public assistance supplements state, local and voluntary resources and insurance compensation. The following counties are eligible for this aid: Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jefferson, Knox, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage and Summit.

The federal cost share is 75 percent; the state cost share, which has usually been one-half of the non-federal share, or 12.5 percent, would reimburse communities for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and infrastructure repair.

Since June 3, more than $13 million in disaster assistance ($935,400 in state’s share) has been provided to Ohioans affected by the May and June storms and flooding.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.