Ind. Governor Says 13 Additional Counties Now Eligible for Federal Disaster Aid

June 23, 2004

Federal emergency management officials have added 13 Indiana counties to the list of those eligible to receive assistance from the late-May storms and more recent flooding, Gov. Joe Kernan said.

This brings the total number of counties to 53 that are covered by the federal disaster declaration signed on June 4 by President George W. Bush.

“Although it has been nearly a month since storms first raced across Indiana, many people are still dealing with the costs of repairing their homes and businesses,” Kernan said. “We will continue to exhaust all resources on behalf of these Hoosiers so they can continue to move forward with their lives.”

Residents in Brown, Clay, Delaware, Green, Henry, Jasper, Lake, Madison, Monroe, Newton, Owen, Putnam, and Tipton now can receive assistance including disaster housing assistance for temporary housing and minimal home repair; low-interest loans to homeowners, renters or business owners for repairs or property replacement; and grants for serious immediate needs that cannot be met by others sources.

Although the state emergency management officials requested 10 other counties be added to the declaration, FEMA did not include Dearborn, Decatur, Franklin, Jennings, Knox, Ohio, Ripley, Sullivan, Switzerland or Vigo counties in the most recent addendum.

SEMA Executive Director Luther Taylor said that the damage reports for those 10 counties are being reviewed and a request for federal disaster assistance may be resubmitted.

Hoosier farmers, some self-employed and other workers whose jobs were affected by the severe weather and flooding may be eligible. The deadline for these 13 counties to apply for this assistance is July 23, 2004. Residents in Clark, Crawford, Marion, Miami and Washington counties can apply until July 9, 2004. Residents in all other designated counties can apply until July 16, 2004.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.