Ohio Gov. Announces Disaster Unemployment Assistance Following Storms

June 8, 2004

Governor Bob Taft announced on Monday that Ohioans affected by the recent storms and flooding in Athens, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Lorain, Medina, Noble, Perry and Summit counties are eligible for additional assistance through the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services. The additional assistance through the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services follows President George W. Bush’s June 4 declaration of a federal disaster for the eight counties.

“This additional assistance will help cushion the impact of the severe weather by providing temporary income to support laid off workers,” said Taft.

Eligibility for Unemployment Compensation is broadened under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance program to include people who, as a result of the disaster: no longer have a job; are unable to reach their place of employment; were to have started new employment but cannot; have become the major supporter for a household because the head of household died in the disaster; or cannot work because of injury. Self-employed individuals and farmers who are not covered by unemployment insurance may also be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance benefits. Individuals who have exhausted unemployment eligibility may also qualify for these benefits.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.