NHTSA Administrator Presents Safety Awards to Top Auto Engineers, Advocates

June 17, 2005

National Highway Traffic Safety Administrator Dr. Jeffrey Runge presented vehicle safety engineering and special appreciation awards to 12 international automotive engineers and safety proponents from six countries during the 19th International Technical Conference on the Enhanced Safety of Vehicles recently in Washington, D.C.

“We are recognizing these 12 automotive engineers, researchers and advocates for their unparalleled contributions to automotive safety throughout the world,” Runge said. “Technical conferences like the ESV are essential for U.S. and international highway safety experts to share research and to advance the latest technologies enhancing vehicle and traffic safety on the world’s roads,” he added.

NHTSA awards for “Safety Engineering Excellence” went to the following individuals:

Dr. Jeff Crandall (United States, University of Virginia), for his expertise in the area of biomechanics, human injury causation and modeling of biosystems, including research activities in thoracic injuries in vehicle crashes, pediatric injuries and the effect of safety belt characteristics on injury to children.

Dr. Lotta Jakobsson (Sweden, Volvo Car Corporation), for her contributions to traffic injury research as an internationally renowned impact-trauma biomechanics expert involved in developing vehicle designs for safety.

Mr. Koichi Kamiji (Japan, Honda, R&D Co., Ltd.), for contributions to the development of intelligent airbag systems and improved body structures that enhance both pedestrian protection and crash compatibility.

Dr. Richard Lind (United States, Delphi Corporation), for his contributions in helping produce systems for monitoring driving performance and minimizing driver “workload”. He has been instrumental in developing lane tracking systems and advanced vision/radar fusion technologies.

Jan Olsson (Sweden, Autoliv, Inc.), for his contributions to airbag technologies, including innovations in the fields of side impact airbags, inflatable curtains, anti-whiplash systems and rollover protection.

Dr. Peter Rieth (Germany, Continental Automotive Systems), for contributions to such key safety technologies as brake assist, electronic stability control, and steering control systems.

Professor Pete Thomas (United Kingdom, Vehicle Safety Research Centre), for his contributions to crash analysis and resulting improvements to vehicle safety as a world-wide authority on crash studies. His work contributed to research on frontal impact standards in 1990, and he has since identified many areas for additional safety improvements.

In addition to these safety engineering excellence awards, “special awards of appreciation” went to a number of individuals in recognition of their outstanding leadership and contributions in the field of motor vehicle safety:

Maurice Eaton (United Kingdom, EuroNCAP), for his management of Europe’s New Car Assessment Program which has greatly accelerated the deployment of improved occupant protection systems throughout Europe.

Jean-Yves Foret-Bruno (France, PSA Peugeot-Citroen-Renault), for 30 years of research into “accidentology,” which helped to improve the design of automotive structures, seat belts, air bags and load-limiting devices in today’s passenger cars.

Professor Per Lövsund (Sweden, Chalmers University of Technology), for his significant contributions to impact biomechanics and traffic safety over the last 25 years, including the establishment of the Crash Safety Division at Chalmers University of Technology.

Brian O’Neill (United States, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety), for his work with IIHS in developing and communicating objective information about vehicle safety performance to the public, and enhancing automotive safety awareness among the motoring public, auto manufactures and the government.

Juichiro Takada (Japan, Takata Corporation), for his efforts in introducing safety belts, pre-tensioners and airbags in Japan, as well as for the development and commercialization of silicon coating of air bag fabrics; and for his work with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in the U.S. in the last major seat belt evaluation program using human volunteers.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.