New Hampshire Drivers Educated on Hand-Held Device Ban

By LYNNE TUOHY | August 4, 2014

Motorists travelling through New Hampshire are seeing electronic highway signs warning them about distracted driving – the first messages in what will eventually become a full-blown public awareness campaign about a law that will ban the use of all hand-held electronic devices while driving.

The bulk of the distracted driving law takes effect next July 1, but a provision requiring the public be educated about the law is in effect now. A message greeting motorists that started Friday says “Hands Free, A Better Way to Be.”

Gov. Maggie Hassan last week signed into law the bill that makes hand-held cellphone use punishable by a $100 fine for the first offense. The price rises to $250 for a second offense and $500 for subsequent offenses within a 24-month period.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.