State officials say the number of accidents involving newly licensed teenage drivers has dropped by half since 2007 when Massachusetts boosted the amount of training required of young drivers and stiffened penalties for traffic infractions.
The 2007 law, among other requirements, more than tripled the number of hours teens must spend driving under parental supervision to 40 hours, doubled the time with an instructor behind the wheel to 12 hours.
The Boston Globe reports that that drop in the number of accidents may also be because the number of 16- and 17-year-olds with a Massachusetts driver’s license has plunged by one-fourth since 2006.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.