Maine Farmers Eligible for Disaster Assistance

December 16, 2011

Farmers in 13 Maine counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance for damages from excessive rain, cold, high winds, flooding, extreme heat and other weather events this year.

Maine Congressman Mike Michaud said Wednesday the U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued two new disaster declarations for Maine.

One of the declarations frees up disaster aid for farmers in Aroostook, Hancock, Penobscot, Washington, Knox, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo counties who suffered damages from weather disasters from May through September.

The other disaster declaration frees up assistance for farmers in Oxford, Androscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin and York counties who suffered losses due to flooding, excessive rain and high winds from the remnants of Hurricane Irene that passed through Maine in late August.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.