New Jersey drivers are now required to remove ice and snow from their vehicles under a new law that has gone into effect.
The law, passed last October, authorizes fines and citations for drivers who fail to clean off their cars.
“Ice and snow are great in their proper place, but that place is not on your vehicle if you’re venturing out on New Jersey’s roadways,” said Colonel Rick Fuentes, Superintendent of the New Jersey State Police. “For years we’ve seen evidence of the dangers of snow and ice on vehicles. Now, the law prohibits what common sense should have already dictated. And troopers will be enforcing that law this winter,” he added.
Fines for violating the new law range from $25 to $75. No motor vehicle points will be assessed for this offense. If failure to remove ice and snow results in injury or property damage, motorists face fines ranging from $200 to $1000, while commercial motor vehicle drivers face fines ranging from $500 to $1,500, for each offense.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.