Seven Virginia Counties Included in Disaster Declaration

October 5, 2010

Federal agriculture officials have included seven Virginia counties in a disaster declaration due to drought conditions.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack made the declaration this week for Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Highland, Loudoun, Rockingham and Shenandoah counties.

The counties are adjacent to nine counties in West Virginia that were declared disaster areas due to drought-related losses.

Farmers and ranchers in the Virginia counties can apply for low-interest emergency loans from the U.S. Farm Service Agency to cover portions of their losses.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.