Starting on New Year’s Day, all cigarettes sold in Delaware must be fire-safe.
A new law requires that the cigarettes sold in the state be able to extinguish themselves in about 15 to 20 seconds if they are not smoked.
Under the law, retailers and wholesalers that continue to sell traditional cigarettes in Delaware after Jan. 1 will face a fine of up to $1,000 for the first violation. Subsequent offenses could earn a maximum fine of $5,000.
Information from: WGMD-FM
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.