More than $8.4M in Disaster Assistance to New Yorkers

June 10, 2005

Disaster recovery assistance in New York has reached more than $8.4 million, according to state and federal disaster recovery officials.

Since President Bush declared a major disaster declaration on April 19, at the request of New York Gov. George Pataki, residents, business owners and government agencies in 20 New York counties have been made eligible to register for state and federal disaster recovery programs.

Among the programs are:

Individual and Households Program

The Individual and Households Program (IHP) includes Housing Assistance and Other Needs Assistance. The combined total for IHP is $6,830,106.

Housing Assistance may include transient lodging expenses, repair assistance and temporary rental assistance. The total for housing has reached $4,660,193. Other Needs Assistance may include medical, dental, and funeral expenses; furniture, clothing and certain appliances; vehicle costs; and other eligible expenses. That total is $2,169,913.

To date, 3,173 New Yorkers have registered for assistance.

Renters, homeowners and business owners in the following counties may register for help with disaster related damages: Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Orange, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga and Ulster.

FEMA Registration

The deadline for individuals and business owners to register for state and federal assistance is Monday, June 20. Anyone in the counties listed above who has not yet registered is urged to call the FEMA registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired. The registration is available Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice. Or register online at until June 20.

Public Assistance

The major disaster declaration made 19 counties eligible for the public assistance program to assist with infrastructure losses. To date, 477 requests for public assistance have been received and FEMA has approved $180,183 in reimbursements for eligible, disaster related costs and losses.

The program provides funds to eligible municipalities, public agencies and qualified private non-profit organizations for approved costs of debris removal, emergency protective measures, road repairs, repair of water control facilities and restoration of buildings, utilities, and recreational facilities.

U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) provides low interest disaster loans to renters, homeowners and businesses. To date, SBA has issued 2,951 residential low interest disaster loan applications and 540 business applications for New Yorkers who suffered flood damage.

A total of $1,397,500 in home loans has been approved.

The declared counties are: Broome, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chenango, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Greene, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga and Ulster.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.