Va. Jurisdictions to Receive Gaston Aid

September 7, 2004

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that government entities in five jurisdictions impacted by Tropical Depression Gaston on Aug. 30 are eligible for federal disaster aid through FEMA’s Public Assistance program.

The cities of Colonial Heights and Richmond, and the counties of Chesterfield, Hanover and Henrico may receive reimbursement for eligible costs of emergency work such as traffic control and permanent work to repair damages to public facilities. Certain private nonprofit organizations also may be eligible if they provide essential government services.

FEMA will pay 75 percent of the cost, with the state and local governments providing 25 percent.

On Sept. 3, the President issued a major disaster declaration, triggering aid to renters, homeowners and businesses in the cities of Richmond, Petersburg, Colonial Heights, Hopewell, and the counties of Henrico, Hanover, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie and Prince George.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.