Motorcycle Helmets Increase Chances of Survival by 29%: GEICO

October 16, 2014

According to a National Highway Traffic Safety Administration survey, riders wearing a helmet have a 29 percent better chance of surviving a crash than riders without a helmet.

But only 19 states, plus the District of Columbia have universal motorcycle helmet laws that require all motorcycle operators and passengers to wear a helmet. Another 28 states have partial helmet laws that do not require adults to wear a helmet, and three states (Illinois, Iowa and New Hampshire) do not have any helmet laws or restrictions.

State by State Look at Motorcycle and Bicycle Helmet Use Laws

motorcycle helmet law “A motorcycle helmet is the most important piece of safety equipment that a motorcyclist has,” said Steve Stojanovich, director of GEICO’s motorcycle/RV division. “Because motorcycle regulations vary from state to state, it’s important that riders become aware of the dangers they face if they ride without one.”

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration survey also found that motorcycle helmet use in the U.S. remained at 60 percent in 2013, unchanged after a significant drop from 66 percent between the years 2010 – 2012. Helmet use continues to be significantly higher in states that have universal helmet laws.

Stojanovich mentioned that all motorcyclists should wear a Department of Transportation – approved helmet even if it’s not the law in your state. “Make sure the helmet includes a face shield or protective eyewear to minimize severe injuries in case of an accident,” said Stojanovich.

States with universal helmet laws include: Alabama, California, DC, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia.

States with partial helmet laws include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Source: GEICO

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.