Delaware Bans Hand-Held Cell Phone Use While Driving

January 5, 2011

A ban on hand-held cell phone use while driving is taking effect in Delaware.

Beginning Sunday, drivers will have to carry on their cell phone conversations using hands-free devices. The law also bans texting while driving, and drivers cannot use pagers, Blackberrys, PDAs, laptops, games or any other electronic devices.

Police can pull over a driver observed talking on a hand-held device and issue a fine of $50 for a first offense. Repeat offenses increase to $100 and can go as high as $200. Violations do not incur points on a driver’s license.

The new law includes exemptions for police, firefighters and other emergency personnel.

Subscribe Get a free subscription to our popular email newsletter.
Claims news headlines delivered to your email.

Latest Comments

  • January 7, 2011 at 7:06 am
    wudchuck says:
    here's one that some folks probably have not seen: changing clothes in the car!
  • January 6, 2011 at 3:21 am
    xena says:
    Agreed! I once saw a man driving he vehicle while shaving with electric shaver. Right up there with women putting on their makeup. A distraction is a distraction. I rear ended... read more
  • January 6, 2011 at 9:31 am
    No Tolerance says:
    It should be illegal for a driver to eat while the vehicle is in motion as well as applying makeup, shaving or looking in the visor mirror.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

More News
More News Features