State of Emergency Issued for 12 Mississippi Counties after Tornadoes

Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour declared a state of emergency for 12 Mississippi counties Monday after a severe weather system and tornadoes hit parts of Central Mississippi, including the Jackson Metro area on April 4.

Barbour announced the emergency declaration while touring neighborhoods in Northeast Jackson, which were among the hardest-hit areas.

The affected counties that will receive the benefits of the emergency declaration are: Hinds, Lauderdale, Leake, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Scott, Smith, Rankin, Tippah, Warren and Yazoo.

Source: Office of the Governor of Mississippi