Louisiana Parishes Get Drought Disaster Declaration

Seven parishes in Louisiana have been declared disaster areas due to drought by the U.S. Agriculture Department.

The parishes are Beauregard, Caddo, DeSoto, Sabine, Vernon, Calcasieu and Cameron.

State Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain says the parishes were included in a declaration covering 213 Texas counties hit by drought. Strain says the designation makes farmers eligible for emergency loans and revenue assistance payments.

Farmers in the parishes have eight months from the June 24 declaration date to apply for the emergency assistance.