OSHA to Change Regional Structure. Here’s the New Map of OSHA Offices by State.

The Department of Labor has announced changes to the structure of its Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s (OSHA) regional operations.

OSHA said it plans to fully transition to its new regional structure later in fiscal year 2024.

The changes include the creation of a new OSHA regional office in Birmingham, Alabama, overseeing agency operations in that state and those in Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee as well as the Florida Panhandle. OSHA said the Birmingham office will address the area’s growing worker population and the hazardous work done by employees in food processing, construction, heavy manufacturing and chemical processing.

OSHA is also merging Regions 9 and 10 into a new San Francisco region.


As part of the changes, the agency will also rename its regions to associate them by geography, rather than its current practice of assigning numbers to regions. As such, the area OSHA calls Region 4 will be renamed the Atlanta region with jurisdiction over Florida, excluding the Panhandle; Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The current Region 6 will be renamed the Dallas region and have jurisdiction over workplace safety issues in New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

Assistant Secretary for Occupational Safety and Health Doug Parker said the changes reflect demographic and industrial changes. “With a stronger enforcement presence in the South and more consolidated state oversight and whistleblower presence in the West — an area dominated by states that operate their OSHA programs — we can direct our resources where they’re needed most,” he added.

A copy of the new map can be found here.

The previously numbered regions with their new regional names are as follows:

Region1 Boston

Region 2 New York City

Region 3 Philadelphia

Region 4 Atlanta

Region 5 Chicago

Region 6 Dallas

Region 7 Kansas City

Region 8 Colorado

Region 9, 10 San Francisco

X Birmingham