FEMA Approves Disaster Funding for South Dakota

South Dakota Sen. Tim Johnson says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved more than $3.6 million in disaster aid to help communities recover from several June storms, including the tornado in Wessington Spring and flooding in other areas.

Funds will be made available to Butte, Clay, Corson, Dewey, Hanson, Jerauld, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Perkins, Turner, Union and Ziebach counties, as well as the Cheyenne River Sioux and Standing Rock Sioux tribal nations.

The money can be used for a variety of disaster recovery costs such as emergency work, removal of debris, road and bridge repair, and restoration of electrical utilities.