Ohio Gov. Notes Assistance Available for Weather Victims in Four Additional Counties

Ohio Gov. Bob Taft announced that disaster assistance is available through the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services for victims of the recent floods and severe weather in Athens, Meigs, Vinton and Washington counties.

“The State of Ohio stands ready to assist those in need,” Taft said. “This assistance is available immediately to help families who were impacted by the recent severe weather.”

Families residing in Athens, Meigs, Vinton and Washington counties may qualify for up to $1,500 in disaster assistance. Certain elderly and disabled individuals may qualify for up to $750 in disaster assistance. Residents of Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Guernsey, Harrison, Jefferson, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Stark, Trumbull and Tuscarawas have been declared eligible for this assistance over the past few weeks.

In order to be eligible for up to $1,500 in Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) disaster assistance money, families must include a minor child, or pregnant woman, and have evidence of economic need. Elderly and disabled individuals in these counties who are not eligible for TANF assistance may be eligible for one-time cash assistance of up to $750. Only one payment may be made per dwelling. To be eligible for this type of assistance, a person must be at least 55 years old and childless or receiving certain disability benefits; impacted by the severe weather; and provide evidence of an economic need to the county department of job and family services.

Each year, ODJFS reserves $5 million in TANF funding for disaster victims in counties declared in a state of emergency.