3 Maine Counties Eligible for Aid

Three Maine counties are eligible for federal assistance in recovering from damage from this summer’s severe storms.

The White House issued a disaster declaration for Androscoggin, Cumberland York counties, releasing money to help local communities hit hard by heavy rain, hail, damaging winds and flash flooding.

Sens. Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins announced the declaration. Collins noted that severe weather in early and mid-August closed dozens of roads, prevented families from reaching their homes and cut off the water supply for some residents of Freeport.