USDA Approves Wyoming Agricultural Disaster Declarations

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has approved two agricultural disaster declarations that Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal made in October.

One of the declarations names Platte County, Wyo., a primary natural disaster area because of widespread hail damage to crops. Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie and Niobrara counties were named contiguous disaster counties.

The second declaration identifies Park and Big Horn counties as primary disaster counties because of a severe early-season freeze that damaged sugar beets and other crops. Fremont, Hot Springs, Johnson, Sheridan, Teton and Washakie counties are contiguous disaster counties.