West Virginia Will Get Federal Disaster Aid for April Storms

West Virginia has received approval for federal disaster assistance in 12 counties to help recovery efforts from severe storms in early April.

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin announced Monday the available assistance for state and local governments in Braxton, Brooke, Doddridge, Gilmer, Jackson, Lewis, Marshall, Ohio, Pleasants, Ritchie, Tyler and Wetzel counties.

The assistance is for emergency work and repairs to public facilities damaged by flooding, landslides and mudslides from April 8 to 11.

The funding does not include assistance to individual homeowners.

Last week the state received approval for public assistance for six other counties from storms on April 3 to 5. They are Boone, Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo and Wayne.